Why become a member? ×

Best bass combo under £500?

Herbie The Rad Dorklift

How do all.

I'm new to bass, kinda.

I've played guitar for ages, now play bass in a pop/rock group. The music we do is kinda like Beatles/McFly/The Feeling. We also cover lots of different things from Free, to Mika, to Stevie Wonder, to Van Morrison.

I play 2 basses. One's a MIM Fender P and the other's a Korean Schecter 5 string.

I want a combo for portability reasons, so no head/cabs.

Ideally I'd like a Mark Bass but they're a bit out of budget at the mo, unless they go used for cheap? The combo I use right now is a Line6 1x15; it's OK, but I want something better :)

Cheers.

You should have a look at the Ashdown MAG range, 300 watts, DI, compressor, Sub Octave, 5 band eq etc etc, solid good sounding workhorses and both the 1x15 and 2x10 combos come in well under budget...

Check it -

[url="http://www.dv247.com/guitars/ashdown-mag-c210t-300-evo-ii-bass-amplifier-combo--73684"]http://www.dv247.com/guitars/ashdown-mag-c...er-combo--73684[/url]

[url="http://www.dv247.com/guitars/ashdown-mag-c115-300-evo-ii-bass-amplifier-combo--73683"]http://www.dv247.com/guitars/ashdown-mag-c...er-combo--73683[/url]

[quote name='Herbie The Rad Dorklift' post='951705' date='Sep 10 2010, 12:09 PM']Ibanez really?

Obviously I'm not an experienced bassist (as I said), but in the world of guitar amps Ibanez are terrible! Will try and find one out.[/quote]

Ive not played one, but the reviews are great. I know what you mean, they have a bad rep with amps, but I assume they have done their homework with this one :)

Buy used. You'll get a lot of amp for £500. There's a used Hartke Hydrive 2x10 combo local to me in as new condition for £375 so something like that's worth a look. An Ibanez Promethean is good by all accounts, but one 10" speaker will only do so much.

Edited by Bigwan

+1 for the Hartke and Ashdown suggestions above.